DGNB office, inside
1 Green walls for better air quality, 2 Flexible interior design options, 3 Low-emission carpet made of recycled shing nets with high footstep suppression,
4 Benches in FSC-certifid wood

Stuttgart spearheads sustainable building in Germany

Builders bear responsibility – personally, for the people who use their buildings, and our environment. The principle of sustainable building promoted by the German Sustainable Building Council [Deutsche Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen – DGNB e.V.] addresses these aspects. However, the commitment of the non-profit organisation based in Stuttgart reaches far beyond the established certification system.

Burying your head in the sand and looking the other way is not a good option when dealing with climate change. This applies especially to the building and real estate business. After all, this sector is largely accountable for worldwide resource consumption, CO2 emissions and waste generation. Or, taking a positive view, this is where major levers, potentials can be used to prompt change. But how? Sustainability is the key. Yet it is vital that it does not remain an empty word. It must be filled with life, signify a common understanding of the upcoming challenges and show how we can apply sustainability in practical terms.

Caleido inner courtyard

Caleido: DGNB headquarters

“Sustainable building and Stuttgart with its high
planning density and innovative tradition are inextricably linked with each other.”

DGNB Vice President,
founder haas cook zemmrich STUDIO2050,
Stuttgart

The DGNB shows how it can be done with its certification system for buildings and urban districts. It is based on practical criteria – more than 30 in the case of new buildings – all of which deal with aspects that can exercise a positive influence on the sustainability capacity of a building project. This reaches far beyond looking only at energy efficiency. In simple terms, the equation is “Environment + Economy + People”. A closer look reveals that many of the criteria start with environmentally friendly material production and the avoidance of hazardous substances and contaminants. It goes beyond the complexity of lifecycle costs, starting with raw material extraction to dismantling buildings 50 years on, to cover all those aspects that make a building attractive to provide a healthy and productive environment.

THINK K Stuttgart Killesberg, Stuttgart

The main asset of the DGNB certification system is that it helps all stakeholders involved in building projects to reach a common understanding of the aims of sustainable building at an early phase of the project. So it is more than just a label decorating the facade of a building. It concerns integral processes and planning with vision which already takes account the costs of the near and distant future into.

Its initiator, the DGNB, a non-profit organisation, has set itself the goal of promoting sustainable building, raising awareness of its necessity and creating opportunities – in both professional circles and society in general. Since it was founded in 2007 the council, with 1,200 member organisations in less than a decade, has become Europe’s largest network for sustainable building. From its base in the heart of Stuttgart the DGNB networks architects and planners with investors, contractors, building product manufacturers, universities and associations. Many companies, especially in the Stuttgart, region have actively helped to continue the DGNB success story through their commitment.

One of the key chapters in this story takes place in the Caleido in Tübinger Straße. This project and more than 50 others in Stuttgart have been awarded a (pre-)certificate by the DGNB. The new building became the council’s new headquarter in July 2014. It not only offers office space for around 40 DGNB staff, but also acts as a living showroom for interested visitors, letting them gain first-hand experience of all aspects underpinning the principle of sustainable building. The showroom has already attracted more than 4,000 visitors and elicited their stunned admiration.

Blocher Blocher Partners, Stuttgart

Center for Virtual Engineering – Fraunhofer IAO, Stuttgart

The DGNB is also increasingly inspiring admiration abroad. The holistic approach to sustainable building with the quality seal of “Made in Germany” is in high demand. There are more than 2,000 DGNB certified projects sited in over 20 countries. Over 3,000 professionals from more than 30 countries have already been trained as experts for sustainable building via the DGNB Academy platform. This is complemented by many strategic partnerships, as in the World Green Building Council, for instance.

All of this contributes to the DGNB idea being spread from Stuttgart to the rest of the world. An important step, since ultimately we are all faced with a major challenge which we can only resolve together; creating a world with buildings and urban districts in which we can enjoy a happy and healthy life.

DGNB Geschäftsstelle, innen
1 Grüne Wand für eine verbesserte Luftqualität, 2 Flexible Möglichkeiten zur Raumgestaltung, 3 Emissionsarmer Teppich aus recycelten Fischernetzen mit hoher Trittschallreduzierung, 4 Sitzbänke aus FSC-zertifiziertem Holz

Das Herz des nachhaltigen Bauens in Deutschland schlägt in Stuttgart

Wer baut, trägt Verantwortung – für sich, die Menschen, die die Gebäude nutzen, und die Umwelt, in der wir leben. Das Prinzip des nachhaltigen Bauens, wie es die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen – DGNB e.V. fördert, setzt hier an. Dabei geht das Engagement der Non-Profit-Organisation mit Sitz in Stuttgart weit über das bekannte Zertifizierungssystem hinaus.

Die Augen verschließen und Wegschauen ist angesichts des Klimawandels keine gute Option. Das gilt für die Bau- und Immobilienwirtschaft in besonderem Maße. Schließlich ist der Sektor in hohem Maße für den weltweiten Ressourcenverbrauch, den CO2-Ausstoß und das Abfallaufkommen verantwortlich. Positiv ausgedrückt: Hier liegen große Hebel, Potenziale, die genutzt werden können, um einen Wandel anzustoßen. Nur wie? Das Schlüsselwort lautet Nachhaltigkeit. Das Entscheidende dabei: Nachhaltigkeit darf keine Worthülse bleiben. Das muss mit Leben gefüllt werden, ein gemeinsames Verständnis für die anstehenden Herausforderungen liefern und Wege aufzeigen, wie dies praktisch anwendbar ist.

Innenhof des Caleido

Caleido: Sitz der DGNB

„Nachhaltiges Bauen und Stuttgart mit seiner hohen Planerdichte und Innovationstradition sind untrennbar miteinander verbunden.“

DGNB Vizepräsident,
Gründer haas cook zemmrich
STUDIO2050, Stuttgart

Wie das aussehen kann, zeigt die DGNB mit ihrem Zertifizierungssystem für Gebäude und Quartiere. Dieses fußt auf konkreten Kriterien – beim Neubau sind dies mehr als 30 –, die all jene Themen benennen, mit denen sich die Nachhaltigkeitsleistung eines Bauprojekts positiv beeinflussen lässt. Dies geht über die reine Betrachtung der Energieeffizienz weit hinaus. Vereinfacht lautet die Formel „Umwelt + Wirtschaftlichkeit + Mensch“. Sieht man genauer hin, fängt die Vielfalt der Kriterien bei einer umweltverträglichen Materialgewinnung und der Vermeidung von Schad- und Risikostoffen an. Es geht über die Betrachtung der kompletten Lebenszykluskosten, angefangen bei der Rohstoffgewinnung bis zum Rückbau des Gebäude nach 50 Jahren, und umfasst dazu noch all jene Themen, die dazu beitragen, dass wir die Gebäude gerne nutzen und in ihnen gesund und leistungsfähig bleiben können.

THINK K Stuttgart Killesberg, Stuttgart

Der große Wert des DGNB-Zertifizierungssystems liegt darin, dass es hilft, alle am Bau Beteiligten schon zu einer früheren Projektphase mit einem gemeinsamen Verständnis für die Aufgabenstellung des nachhaltigen Bauens an einen zu Tisch bringen. Es geht also um mehr als eine Plakette, die
das Gebäude schmückt. Es geht um integrale Prozesse und planerische Weitsicht, die heute schon die Kosten für morgen und übermorgen mitdenkt.

Hinter all dem steckt mit der DGNB eine Non-Profit-Organisation, die es sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, eine nachhaltige Bauweise zu fördern und ein Bewusstsein für deren Notwendigkeit und Chancen zu schaffen – in der Fachöffentlichkeit, aber auch in der breiten Gesellschaft. Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2007 hat sich der Verein mit mehr als 1.200 Mitgliedsorganisationen in nicht einmal 10 Jahren zu Europas größtem Netzwerk für nachhaltiges Bauen entwickelt. Ausgehend von der Geschäftsstelle im Herzen von Stuttgart vernetzt die DGNB Architekten und Planer mit Investoren, Bauunternehmen, Bauproduktehersteller, Hochschulen und Verbänden. Gerade in der Region Stuttgart gibt es dabei zahlreiche Unternehmen, die mit ihrem Engagement aktiv dazu beitragen, die Erfolgs-
story der DGNB weiterzuschreiben.

Ein wesentlicher Teil dieser Geschichte spielt sich im Caleido in der Tübinger Straße ab, das, wie mehr als 50 weitere Projekte, in Stuttgart von der DGNB mit einem Zertifikat oder Vorzertifikat ausgezeichnet wurde. Der Neubau ist seit Juli 2014 die neue Heimat des Vereins. Dabei bietet das Büro nicht nur Platz für die rund 40 Mitarbeiter der DGNB. Als Living Showroom bietet es interessierten Besuchern die Gelegenheit, selbst zu erleben, was sich hinter dem Prinzip des nachhaltigen Bauens verbirgt. Ein Angebot, das mehr als 4.000 Besucher bereits genutzt haben – Aha-Effekte inklusive.

Blocher Blocher Partners, Stuttgart

Zentrum für Virtuelles Engineering – Fraunhofer IAO, Stuttgart

Für Aha-Effekte sorgt die DGNB zunehmend auch im Ausland. So sorgt das ganzheitliche Verständnis von nachhaltigem Bauen mit dem Qualitätsanspruch „Made in Germany“ für große Nachfrage. Die mehr als 2.000 von der DGNB zertifizierten Projekte verteilen sich auf über 20 Länder. Im Rahmen der Fort- und Weiterbildungsplattform DGNB Akademie wurden zudem in mehr als 30 Ländern 3.000 Fachkräfte zu Experten für nachhaltiges Bauen geschult. Ergänzt wird dies um viele weitere strategische Partnerschaften, etwa im World Green Building Council.

All das trägt dazu bei, dass von Stuttgart aus die Idee der DGNB in die Welt getragen wird. Ein wichtiger Schritt, denn letztlich stehen wir alle vor einer großen Herausforderung, die wir nur gemeinsam lösen können. Für eine lebenswerte Welt mit Gebäuden und Quartieren, in denen wir gerne und gesund leben können.